A Visit to Command-D

I wandered to the east of Spindrift, my Second Life region, one day last year.  It was before the gridmoths ate Earth Exploration sim this Spring, so I didn’t have to detour to the southeast around the new ocean square.  Landing in LUNAR06, one of USA/ULA’s northern row of regions, I walked over to the ridge with a comms antenna poking up over it.

USA 06 sim, Command Bunker

I walked over to the entrance.  Seeing that the interior was lit, I shouted, but heard nothing save echoes off the hard bare walls.  I entered, and spent time trying out the controls in the deserted bunker, but nothing responded.

USA06 Command Bunker Interior

A few months before in 2009, DC Comics had revived, among other characters, Kamandi, the Last Boy on Earth in their wonderful Wednesday Comics.  His name derived from where he was raised, the Command-D bunker after the Great Disaster.  So after I left the rapid-prototyping project bunker which had reminded me of Kamandi, I used this excuse to try to learn something new about my PaintShop Pro graphics.  My first try is below.

The Command-D bunker where Kamandi was raised.

COMMAND-D

 I was attempting a weathered, etched in concrete lettering, rather than a separate sign.  What were location signs you associate with your favorite comics characters?

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “A Visit to Command-D”

  1. Troy McConaghy Says:

    I bookmarked this post with Chrome on my Mac, using Command-D.

  2. spacecta Says:

    Actually – it was/is a very first prototype storage depot for our “moon base” training simulation.
    It’s one of the places astronauts have to go to get supplies & then out to the mission of the day. Simulations are about working together – planning the course – having the right supplies – not forgetting the storage key – how much you can carry, etc

    The game is currently mostly “on paper” (old style turn based with referees & etc) – using the SL environment we get much more assimilation of the lessons and the ability to practice at any time – from anywhere

    Oh – and ULA has nothing to do with it – this is from United Space Alliance (http://www.unitedspacealliance.com)

Leave a Reply

